About Relationships: When to Walk Away

The shit I do when I should be reading #failing

I was in a ‘relationship’ (quote marks are there cause it was far from official) and after two months I asked him what he wanted, and he didn’t say monogamy. Basically, I packed my bags and ran faster than Drake running from his balls. I was done, I wasn’t about to sit there and wait for a guy to get this shit together and realize how freaking awesome I am (YAAAASSS CHILD, YAAAASSSS!). But I was sitting with my friend after and she was like ‘You don’t think you should’ve waited? Maybe he’d have realized that he wanted you after and now it’s too late for you to go back.’ And I was like ‘Naaaah, man, I got shit to do, can’t be sitting round waiting for people ‘ And thenI talked to some other girls and they were all like that. Is that the thing now? Are we going to just wait for people to figure out that they like us? And two months wasn’t long enough? REALLY?

I can’t, I can’t subscribe to that. I know, within like a week or two, if what I’m doing with someone is going somewhere and after a month? I’m pretty freaking sure. And I am one indecisive child, so that means everybody else does that shit faster than I do, which means that fool KNEW that he didn’t want to cuff it. And yet my ass should’ve waited? For how much longer? A month? A couple? A year? This is when girls start with that shit for ‘I gave you the best years of my life’ WHY BITCH WHY??? You gave him, he didn’t ask for it, which is why you handed it out on a motherfucking silver platter to a guy you weren’t sure of? Now, just before I get ahead of myself, I think I was stupid as hell for wasting 2 months on him. Not because he wasn’t worth it, don’t get me wrong, he is an amazing person who taught me lessons I will value for the rest of my life, one of them being DO NOT waste two months on someone who isn’t sure.

Being with someone shouldn’t be like buying a house of getting your hair cut, you don’t have to think about it that much. Think about all the fucked up relationships you know of, if them fools thought about it before, they would sure as hell not be together (Drake and Rihanna? Really though? For real?) but it’s not a logical thing, it’s not something that takes time, either it is or it ain’t. And if it ain’t have the Goddamn dignity to walk away. Because what it boils down to? You aren’t enough for this person. Whatever reason it is, you ain’t fine enough, not smart enough, not rich enough, this person has decided that you? Ain’t worth them. And that sucks ass, like smelly, hairy, ain’t been washed for some weeks ass, but you know what sucks more? Not loving yourself enough to walk away. And this goes for relationships, for crushes, for all the in-betweens and we ain’t sure, don’t sit there twiddling your thumbs saying you should give it time, you ask them where this is going. Because even if it might end up that they eventually fall madly in love with you (which is a tiiiiiny percentage by the way), most likely the reason is they realized they can’t do any better than you and are settling. Which you do not want . Do not be someone’s second, someone’s I-can’t-get-no-satisfaction person, you deserve so much more than that.

Now, I’m not saying that off the bat you should start demanding that you’re official, but the minute, THE MINUTE you start having doubts, you clear the air and you find  out what you are. Because you are fucking amazing, and deserve to be with someone who wants to be with you, first time. Not someone who has to be convinced into being with you. You are worth first place. Demand it boo 🙂

Eurgh, back to pharmacy 😦 

Author: Phosa

I write what I know, what I love, and what I experience. Just trying to figure it all out. On one blog this time :)

3 thoughts on “About Relationships: When to Walk Away”

Leave a comment